Maryland Grain Producers

Farmers raising food, fiber and renewable energy

News and Events

Grain Organizations Elect New Leadership

Maryland’s two grain commodity organizations, the Maryland Grain Producers Utilization Board and the Maryland Grain Producers Association elected new officers at their 2017 annual board meetings. 

Established in 1991, the Maryland Grain Producers Utilization Board (MGPUB) administers the Maryland Grain Checkoff Program, which supports projects in research, education and market development to improve the profitability of the Maryland grain industry.   Continuing as President of MGPUB is Jennie Schmidt, Sudlersville. 

"My goal is to support Maryland grain farmers by effectively and productively using their hard-earned checkoff dollars, furthering the research, promotion and education of Maryland grains," commented Schmidt. 

Other officers elected to MGPUB are Bobby Guy, Vice President, Hebron; Allen Davis, Treasurer, Galena; and Jim Weddle, Secretary, Hagerstown.   

The Maryland Grain Producers Association (MGPA) is a grass-roots member organization that acts as a voice for grain farmers in education, policy and legislative activities at both the state and federal level.  Elected to the presidency of MGPA is Steve Ernst, Clear Spring. 

“It is critical that farmers have their voices heard when decisions are made that affect how we operate our businesses,” said Ernst. “I look forward to helping farmers be a part of those conversations.”

The remaining slate of MGPA officers elected are Vice President Evan Miles, Jr., Chestertown; Treasurer Donnie Tennyson, Dameron; and Secretary Melvin Baile, Jr., New Windsor. 

The grain boards share twelve members, two from each of six regions across the state, who provide valuable insight into the issues affecting their region. Related agribusiness, the Maryland Department of Agriculture, and the University of Maryland are also represented on each board to represent the broad nature of the agricultural industry as ex-officio members.  Affiliated national grain organizations also have representation on the board, including current national officers from Maryland, Chip Councell, Cordova, Chairman of the U.S. Grains Council, Jason Scott, Easton, Chairman of U.S. Wheat Associates, and Chip Bowling, Newburg, Chairman of National Corn Growers Association. For more information visit